Our Board

2016-2017 American Mothers Board of Directors

Dianne Dain Callister, California
Carrie Leonard, Oklahoma
Lela Sullivan, Oklahoma
Joyce Stevens, Nebraska
Sheila Monke, Nebraska
Yolanda Perez, Puerto Rico
Dorothy DeVore, California
Stephanie Rogers, Wisconsin
Carol Willey, Vermont
Ashley Gann, Alabama
Maria Amalbert, Puerto Rico
Joan Braitsch, DC
Patricia Payne, Alabama
Deanne Taylor, Utah
Genevieve Champana, Puerto Rico
JaLynn Prince, Maryland
Sabrina Wisher, Montana
Kim Stevenson, Delaware
Betsy Opyt, Florida
Meg Alexander Ille, Oklahoma
Gina Messina Dysert, Ohio
Gerre Schwert, Tennessee
Jennifer Oliver, Oklahoma
Darcy Ure, California
Deb Stanaland, Oklahoma
Michelle Wall, Delaware
Edie Roodman, Oklahoma

National Advisory Board

Arlo SorensonAdvisory Board Chairman
Arlo G. Sorensen is new to the board and serves as the Chairman of the American Mothers Advisory Council. Sorensen has been actively involved with various Whittier businesses since 1968. He is a former President of M. H. Whittier Corporation, which during his tenure was principally engaged in the operation and development of California oil properties, and of Whittier Energy Company, an oil and gas exploration company. Mr. Sorensen is a Certified Public Accountant who began his career at Haskins & Sells. He has served as a member of the President’s National Petroleum Council, director of the Western States Petroleum Association, president and director of the Independent Petroleum Agency, director of the Whittier Family private foundations, director and member of the Executive Committee of Scripps Memorial Hospital Foundation, and director of various other corporations including Litchfield Company of South Carolina, A-M Homes, San Juan Airlines and Aurora Productions Inc. He is the proud father of two beautiful daughters and 5 grandchildren who bring great joy into his life.

Cathy KeatingAdvisory Board Co-Chairman
Cathy Keating was born and reared in Tulsa, Oklahoma. After graduating from the University of Oklahoma, she married Frank Keating, had three children and embarked on the never-ending challenge of balancing life as a wife and mother with community service and career. For the forty-three years of their marriage, her priority has always been family first. Community service has also been a focus in her life since childhood, but her most significant contributions occurred while serving the state of Oklahoma as First Lady. Most specifically, her efforts were concentrated on the rescue and recovery of those effected from the Oklahoma City Alfred P. Murrah bombing, where Keating planned and organized the International Prayer Service, then published In Their Name, which was on the New York Times bestseller list. All proceeds were directed to “Project Recovery.” She is a 2015 National Mother of Achievement Award winner and currently strives to be a “Mother of Achievement” in all aspects of her life.

Governor Bill Anoatubby
Bill Anoatubby began work for the Chickasaw Nation in 1975 as its health services director. A year later, he was asked to direct its finance department. In October 1978, he was promoted to the position of special assistant to the governor and controller. In 1979, he was elected as the tribe’s first Lt. Governor. Governor Anoatubby was elected to his first term as Governor in 1987. In his first term, Governor Anoatubby established goals of economic development and self-sufficiency for the Chickasaw Nation and its people. Today, the Chickasaw Nation is well on the way to achieving those goals. In 1987, the tribe had about 250 employees. Today, the Chickasaw Nation employs nearly 14,000 people. The financial condition of the tribe has been improved tremendously. Funding for tribal operations has grown exponentially. Tribal assets have grown two-hundredfold. Governor Anoatubby is committed to meeting the needs of Chickasaw people through programs and services. Governor Anoatubby and his wife, Janice, have two sons, Brian and Chris and five grandchildren, Brendan, Eryn, Chloe, Sydney and Preslea.

Secretary Henry G. Cisneros
Henry G. Cisneros began his career in public service working as an administrative assistant in the San Antonio City Manager’s office. He was elected to the San Antonio City Council in 1975, and became the first Hispanic Mayor of San Antonio, the nation’s 10th largest city, in 1981. As a four-term mayor of San Antonio, Mr. Cisneros rebuilt the city’s economic base, recruiting convention business, attracting high tech industries, increasing tourism and creating jobs in San Antonio. In 1985, he was elected president of the National League of Cities. He was nominated by President Clinton to serve as Secretary of Housing and Urban Development on December 17, 1992. Mr. Cisneros graduated from Texas A&M with a B.A. and a masters of urban and regional planning. He earned an M.P.A. in Public Administration from the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard and a doctorate in public administration from the George Washington University. Mr. Cisneros has received numerous awards and honors. Mr. Cisneros married Mary Alice Perez in 1969. They have two daughters, Teresa and Mercedes, and a son John Paul.

Download AMI’s Advisory Board Brochure